Bild des Jahres FWFDer Wissenschaftsfonds Bild des Jahres
  Home     FWF Portrait     News     Public Relations     Contact     Gender Mainstreaming     International     to comment  
Publications
Press Releases
Events
FWF Award for Science Communication
FWF Coaching Workshops
Mailinglists
Project database
Open Access Policy for FWF Projects
  Open Access Testimonials
  FWF-E-Book-Library  
PR Team
Pictures
Logos
Links

Open Access Policy for FWF-funded projects

As a signatory of the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities, the FWF is committed to advance sustained Open Access to scholarly publications and research data. To this end, the FWF requires and supports all project leaders and co-workers to make their research results freely available through the Internet.

The following points should be taken into account:

1. Mandatory Open Access Options for Research Publications

a) Gold Open Access:
Open Access to publications can be ensured through direct publication in an Open Access medium. The medium has to provide, via its own website, immediate and unrestricted access to the final published version of the publication, which should be made available using the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license and allows immediate deposit of the final published version in other repositories without restriction on re‐use (see 7. "Licensing"). This may involve payment of a fee to the publisher (see 2. "Publication Costs").

If offered by publishers and if explicitly chosen by FWF funded authors, payment for Open Access for single articles in subscription journals (Hybrid Open Access) can also be covered. The same rules as for Gold Open Access have to be applied.

b) Green Open Access:
Open access to publications can also be ensured by archiving electronic copies of the final "accepted manuscript" in any sustainable subject or institutional repository (see 3. "Repositories"), without restriction on non-commercial re-use (CC-BY-NC). If there is a restricted period during which such archiving is not permitted, the period should not be longer than six months or, in exceptional cases, twelve months after publication. If the restricted period is longer, the FWF has to be contacted and reasons have to be explained in the final report. Please consult also the publisher's self-archiving policies: http://www.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo/

In some cases, special agreements between the FWF and publishers on cost reductions, reimbursement procedures or embargo policies exist. Authors will be informed by the publisher during the submission process.

2. Publication Costs: In all FWF programs, costs for refereed journal publications can be requested up to three years after the end of the project. In the case of monographs, proceedings and collections, the costs can only be reimbursed if the publishing house ensures Gold Open Access.

In the case of stand-alone publications (books and the like) supported by the FWF, it is mandatory to archive simultaneously an electronic copy of the book open access in the FWF-E-Book-Library, see: https://e-book.fwf.ac.at/

For reimbursement of cost, see: "Support for Scientific Publications and Science Communication": http://www.fwf.ac.at/en/projects/index.html

3. Repositories: Publications should be deposited in repositories with a sustainable access. These can be either subject repositories like Europe PubMedCentral (Life Sciences), arXiv (Natural Sciences), RePEc (Business & Economics), SSRN (Social Sciences & Humanities) and others or institutional repositories, see: http://www.opendoar.org

If the publications are in the life sciences (or related topics), authors are required to make their peer reviewed papers freely available, subject to the embargo period, in the full text repository Europe PubMedCentral. An E-Mail will be sent by Europe PubMedCentral to projects which are addressed by this policy. For details see: http://www.fwf.ac.at/de/public_relations/oai/pubmed.pdf

4. Open Research Data: Whenever legally and ethically possible, all research data and similar materials which are collected and/or analyzed using FWF funds have to be made available free of charge on the Internet either immediately after use in research publications or – if not used in publications – two years after the project is finished. Research data should be deposited in a way that it can be cited and re-used without restrictions, see: http://databib.org/

5. Acknowledgement: Project leaders are required to acknowledge support from the FWF in every presentation and/or publication of research results. The following naming convention must be observed in all cases:Austrian Science Fund (FWF): [project number]

6. Documentation:Open Access activities are to be indicated in the final report to the FWF by listing a persistent identifier of the publication and research data (e.g. DOI, URL, URN, PubMed-ID).

7. Other Essential Sources:

Declarations

Open Access Publishing

Licensing

Open Research Data

Open Access News



Contact
Falk Reckling

to the top

 


    > Deutsch 
  Sitemap     Acknowledgements     Legal Advice     Webmaster  
 


Austrian Science Fund (FWF)
Haus der Forschung, Sensengasse 1, 1090 Vienna
T +43-1-505 67 40 F +43-1-505 67 39
office@fwf.ac.at - www.fwf.ac.at

Bild des Jahres FWFDer Wissenschaftsfonds Bild des Jahres
  Home     FWF-Portrait     Aktuelles     Public Relations     Kontakt     Gender     Internationales     Zur Diskussion     Dienstleistungsangebot  
Publikationen
Presseaussendungen
Events
FWF-Kunstpreis
FWF-Preis für Wissenschafts-
kommunikation
FWF-Informations-
veranstaltungen
Mailingliste
Projekt-Datenbank
Open Access Policy bei FWF-Projekten
  News zu Open Access
  Informationen zu Open Access
  Monitoring Open Access
  Informationsquellen zu Open Access
  Open Access Testimonials
  FWF-E-Book-Library  
PR-Team
Fotos
Logos
Links

Open Access Policy bei FWF-Projekten

Als Unterzeichner der Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities hat sich der FWF verpflichtet, den freien und nachhaltigen Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Publikationen und Forschungsdaten zu unterstützen. In diesem Sinn verpflichtet und fördert der FWF alle ProjektleiterInnen und ProjektmitarbeiterInnen, ihre Forschungsergebnisse im Internet frei zugänglich zu machen.

Folgendes ist dabei zu berücksichtigen:

1. Open Access Verpflichtung für wissenschaftliche Publikationen

a) Gold Open Access:
Open Access von Publikationen kann durch die direkte Veröffentlichung in einem Open Access Organ gewährleistet werden. Die Endversion der Publikation soll über die Webseite des gewählten Mediums, unter Verwendung der Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) Lizenz, unmittelbar und uneingeschränkt zugänglich gemacht werden. Diese Lizenz ermöglicht die sofortige Hinterlegung der Originalversion in anderen Repositorien ohne Einschränkung auf Wiederverwendung (siehe 7. "Licensing"). Dies kann die Zahlung einer Gebühr an den Verlag erforderlich machen (siehe 2. "Publikationskosten").

Falls durch Verlage angeboten und von den AutorInnen gewünscht, können auch Zahlungen für Open Access einzelner Artikel in Subskriptionszeitschriften (Hybrid Open Access) übernommen werden. Es gelten die gleichen Regeln wie für Gold Open Access.

b) Green Open Access:
Open Access für Publikationen kann auch durch die Selbstarchivierung der vom Verlag akzeptierten Version (accepted manuscript) in einem disziplinenspezifischen oder institutionellen Repositorium erfolgen (siehe 3. "Repositorien"). Für die Archivierung ist zumindest die Lizenz CC-BY-NC zu verwenden, die eine nicht-kommerzielle Wiederverwendung ohne Einschränkung ermöglicht. Falls es Embargozeiten gibt, vor deren Ablauf die Selbstarchivierung bereits publizierter Forschungsergebnisse in disziplinspezifischen oder institutionellen Repositorien nicht gestattet wird, sollten diese nicht länger als sechs, in Ausnahmefällen zwölf Monate sein. Sind die Embargozeiten länger, muss der FWF kontaktiert und im Abschlussbericht eine Begründung angegeben werden. Zu den Selbstarchivierungs-Politiken der Verlage siehe: http://www.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo/

In einigen Fällen gibt es spezielle Abkommen zwischen dem FWF und Verlagen über Rabatte, Kostenverrechnungen oder Embargozeiten. Die AutorInnen werden von den Verlagen während des Einreichverfahrens darauf hingewiesen.

2. Publikationskosten können in allen FWF-Programmen für wissenschaftliche, in referierten Fachorganen veröffentlichte Publikationen bis zu drei Jahre nach Projektende beantragt werden. Für Monographien, Proceedings und Sammelbänden können ausschließlich Kosten geltend gemacht werden, wenn sich der Verlag zu Gold Open Access verpflichtet.

Bei vom FWF geförderten, selbstständigen Publikationen (Bücher u.ä.) ist die zeitgleiche Open Access Veröffentlichung der elektronischen Kopie in der FWF-E-Book-Library verpflichtend, siehe: https://e-book.fwf.ac.at/

Zur Kostenübernahme siehe: "Publikations- und Kommunikationsförderung": http://www.fwf.ac.at/de/projects/index.html

3. Repositorien: Publikationen sollen in Repositorien mit einem nachhaltigen Zugang archiviert werden. Zur Wahl stehen entweder disziplinspezifische Repositorien wie Europe PubMedCentral (Life Sciences), arXiv (Naturwissenschaften) RePEc (Wirtschaftswissenschaften), SSRN (Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften) u.ä. oder institutionelle Repositorien, siehe: http://www.opendoar.org

Sind die Publikationen aus dem Bereich der Life Sciences (inkl. verwandter Themenbereiche), sind die Projektbeteiligten aufgefordert, ihre referierten Publikationen im Volltextarchiv Europe PubMedCentral frei zugänglich zu archivieren. Davon betroffene Projekte werden von Europe PubMedCentral per E-Mail gesondert informiert. Für Details siehe: http://www.fwf.ac.at/de/public_relations/oai/pubmed.pdf

4. Open Access bei Forschungsdaten: Wann immer rechtlich und ethisch möglich, sollen Forschungsdaten und ähnliche Materialien, die mit FWF-Mitteln erhoben und/oder ausgewertet werden, mit der Publikation durch die ProjektleiterInnen und ProjektmitarbeiterInnen gemäß disziplinspezifischen Standards, spätestens aber zwei Jahre nach Projektende in disziplinspezifischen oder institutionellen Repositorien frei zugänglich gemacht werden. Sie sind zitierfähig und möglichst ohne Einschränkung auf Wiederverwendung zu archivieren, siehe: http://databib.org/

5. Acknowledgement: Die Projektleitung verpflichtet sich zur Erwähnung des FWF bei jeder Präsentation und/oder Veröffentlichung von Forschungsergebnissen aus einem vom FWF geförderten Projekt. Auf folgende konsistente Nennung muss dabei strikt geachtet werden: Austrian Science Fund (FWF): [Projektnummer]

6. Dokumentation: Im Endbericht an den FWF sind die Open Access Aktivitäten mit einem persistent identifier für die Publikationen und Forschungsdaten nachzuweisen (u.a. DOI, URL, URN, PubMed-ID).

7. Weitere wichtige Quellen:

Declarations

Open Access Publishing

Licensing

Open Research Data

Open Access News

 

FWF-Kontakt
Dr. Falk Reckling

nach oben

 

  Related Link

> Open Access Policy
for FWF-funded projects
(english version)
   
   

    > English 
  Sitemap     Impressum     Rechtliche Hinweise     Webmaster  
 
Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung (FWF)
Haus der Forschung, Sensengasse 1, A-1090 Wien
T +43-1-505 67 40 F +43-1-505 67 39
office@fwf.ac.at - www.fwf.ac.at