Composed of the President, three Scientific Vice-Presidents and the Executive Vice-President, the Executive Board coordinates the organisation’s activities and is in charge of defining the FWF's strategic objectives.

Gerlinde Mautner, Ellen Zechner, Christof Gattringer, Ursula Jakubek, Georg Kaser (f.l.t.r.) © FWF/Daniel Novotny

Composed of the President, three Vice-Presidents of Research, and the Executive Vice-President, the Executive Board coordinates the organization’s activities. It is in charge of defining the FWF's strategic objectives as well as developing and advancing its funding programs. In addition, the Executive Board is responsible for negotiating with Austrian and European research policymakers, cooperating with universities and other research institutions in Austria and abroad, and representing the FWF at the national and international level. The members of the Executive Board also belong to the Assembly of Delegates and the Scientific Board. The Vice-Presidents of Research are each in charge of a specialist department at the FWF.

The President represents the FWF to the outside, chairs the Scientific Board and the Executive Board, and manages the FWF Office. The President may be represented in all of their responsibilities by any member of the Executive Board.


FWF President Christof Gattringer

Christof Gattringer

Particle physicist Christof Gattringer was a professor at the University of Graz since 2005 and Vice-Rector for Research and Junior Researchers’ Promotion since 2019. He has conducted research, for example, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Boston, at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, and at the University of Washington in Seattle

Executive Vice-President

Executive Vice-President Ursula Jakubek

Ursula Jakubek

Ursula Jakubek has been the Executive Vice-President of the FWF Executive Board since June 2021. Prior to joining the FWF, she served as the Director of Finance and Human Resources at the Austrian Academy of Sciences, and before that was Authorised Officer and Global Head of Finance & Accounting at Speech Processing Solutions GmbH and worked many years for Philips Austria. The native of Linz studied business administration at the Vienna University of Economics and Business.

Vice-President of Research — Natural Sciences and Technology

Vice-President of Reasearch Georg Kaser

Georg Kaser

University of Innsbruck
Research Center Climate - Cryosphere and Atmosphere


Georg Kaser is one of the most influential climate researchers in the world. He has collaborated twice as lead author on the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), the World Climate Council of the United Nations, which was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. Kaser is a member of numerous international scientific organisations, including an Honorary Member of the International Association of Cryospheric Sciences. Moreover, he has been a full member of the Division of Mathematics and the Natural Sciences of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW) since 2017.

Vice-President of Research — Humanities and Social Sciences

Vice-President of Research Gerlinde Mautner

Gerlinde Mautner

Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU)
Department of Business Communication

After serving on the FWF Board from 2008 to 2016, Gerlinde Mautner became the FWF’s Vice-President for the Humanities and Social Sciences in September 2016. With a background in linguistics, she teaches and conducts research as a full professor at the Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU). 

Vice-President of Research — Biology and Medical Sciences

Vice-President of Research Ellen Zechner

Ellen Zechner

University of Graz
Institute of Molecular Biosciences


Ellen L. Zechner has been the FWF’s Vice-President for Biology and Medicine since September 2016. From 2011 to 2016, she served as a member of the FWF Board. As a molecular biologist, she conducts research at the Institute of Molecular Biosciences at the University of Graz. Zechner has a great deal of international experience, including work at Harvard University, Rockefeller University and the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics in Berlin. Her research mainly focuses on the molecular mechanisms of bacterial infections.

Other Decision-Making Bodies

Executive bodies
Spotlight Juries
Executive bodies
Spotlight Supervisory Board
Executive bodies
Spotlight Assembly of Delegates
Executive bodies
Spotlight Scientific Board
Scroll to the top