The Supervisory Board is entrusted with numerous powers of monitoring and approval.

It adopts resolutions on the FWF’s annual accounts as well as its annual budget forecasts and its multi-annual and annual work plans. The Supervisory Board elects the President and the Vice-Presidents on the basis of a shortlist of three candidates submitted by the Assembly of Delegates. Upon consultation with the President, it appoints the Executive Vice-President.




Sonja Puntscher Riekmann

University of Salzburg

Debuty Chair

Günther Burkert

University of Continuing Education Krems


Gabriele Ambros



Martha Brinek

Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research


Iris Fortmann

FWF Staff Council


Martin Grötschel

Berlin Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities


Renate E. Meyer

Vienna University of Economics and Business


Johanna Rachinger

Austrian National Library


Barbara Sporn

Vienna University of Economics and Business


Hans Sünkel

Austrian Academy of Sciences

Consultant Members

Martin Gerzabek

Christian Doppler Research Association


Gertrude Tumpel-Gugerell

FFG Supervisory Board

Other Decision-Making Bodies

Executive bodies
Spotlight Juries
Executive bodies
Spotlight Executive Board
Executive bodies
Spotlight Assembly of Delegates
Executive bodies
Spotlight Scientific Board
Scroll to the top